a.m.

i like the early morning,
when there are no people talking;

the only sounds that break the silence
are the ones that tend to lull
us back to sleep, in a slow rhythm:
white noise from the fan,
breaths, hot and soft, on the pillow.

i like that, when the first rays
light up the bedroom,
usually there is only
content quietness.

I am reassured
by early mornings,
by the simple routine of
hot water flowing to the ground coffee,
the clinking of the mugs on the table.

i like the brief moments
when my body is still infused
with the confusion of dreams:
consciousness still seeping into reality.

I am comforted by
the smell and warmth of the sheets,
of the shampoo and soap you wash with,
the brewing coffee,
the sizzling waffles.

it’s one of the very few moments
when I get to just be.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “a.m.”

  1. bezpoante Says:

    I just wanna tell you that I like to read your stuff and I think you’re really good. Most of the stuff I’ve read on most of wordpress blogs that I visited is pretentious and pathetic, so I just wanted to let you know, cos I know how important my opinion is to people.

    peace

    Like

    • fparadise Says:

      thanks, man. feedback from peers is indeed very important to me. and regarding pretentious writing: been there, done that in my youth, a long time ago hahaha. now I prefer it to run raw as it comes.

      Like

now, your turn!

