15.07.26

long I thought I had forgotten, but now in the eye of the mind, I recall that day with unparalleled fondness, with unmatched sweetness.

I reminisce, after a day filled with the rush of the bustling crowd and the oppressive heat of kitchen vapors, feeling anxious, wondering if you’d come (and jealousy, knowing that you had been two days with your lover).. and then relief, pure relief and joy after the night fell, upon seeing you turn the corner, hand-in-hand with your best friend. after that, I can only remember warmth and fuzziness from a belly full of food, illumination by the brightness of the perfect rows of your white teeth, happiness from knowing I was the cause of the melodic sound of your boisterous laughter amid pie and candy, and lightheadedness from the world spinning due to breathtaking love and bitter ales.

and, most importantly, I treasure the feeling of the softness of your hands (now just a passing memory, it is), the tips of your fingers sticky with crumbles and vestiges of lemon pie and meringue, as they tenderly pressed against my cheeks, crushing the cookies inside my mouth. as we locked eyes in laughter just before a sweet farewell hug, I remember the comfort of your touch, tingling in my skin – I was blushing furiously! -, how your irises shone… and holding my own hands behind my back in order not to grab you and kiss you right there in the middle of the street.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

now, your turn!

