afternoon

I’ve got a pack of smokes,
my worries and my coat,
no lighter since someone stole it.

the streets are downstairs,
they always are.
they have been always mine.

I’ve got my legs too,
so I can walk.
I had a night full of bad dreams last night.

I have my delusions.

I thought that deceptions of love
were supposed to consume a person.
when you left me, I was useless,
I drank until I fell, face first to the floor.

but you seem to sleep your nights,
just as well as before.
and I, foolish of fools,
all this time without knowing if I smoke
to die earlier
or if i only need to something to cling on to.

***

it rains now.

now, your turn!

